Geoff Dyer & Michael McWilliams both finalists in the King’s School Art Prize

Geoff Dyer & Michael McWilliams both finalists in the King’s School Art Prize

Congratulations to Geoff Dyer & Michael McWilliams on being selected as finalists in this year’s King’s School Art Prize. The 2012 King’s School Art Prize consists of some of Australia’s most exciting contemporary artists and is one of the finest groups of finalists to date.

The guest judge for this year is Felicity Fenner, Senior Curator & Acting Gallery Director, College of Fine Arts, The University of New South Wales.

The King’s School Art Prize was established in 1994 and is held annually in conjunction with The King’s School Art Show.

The award is a $15,000.00 acquisitive art prize. It is awarded to the painting judged the best contemporary painting, painted by an artist resident in Australia and represented by An Australian commercial gallery.

Over the past 17 years The King’s School Art Prize has enabled the School to recognise and support artists, and develop a prestigious collection of artworks reflecting the culture and history associated with The King’s School. The collection is exhibited within The King’s School and to the broader community.

Past winners of The King’s School Art Prize include: Aida Tomescu, Lyndal Brown and Charles Green, John Olsen, Jason Benjamin, Jacquie Stockdale, Peter Churcher, Joanna Logue, Nicholas Harding, Martine Emdur, Ashley Frost, Ben Quilty, Geoffrey De Groen, Gloria Petyarre, Ross Laurie and Euan Macleod.

Michael McWilliams’ Swamp Seduction and Geoff Dyer’s Ocean Beach will both be on view at the King’s School for the duration of the show from 24-26 August.